Here’s exactly which book each House of the Dragon season is based on, and how to read it

image 753

Get ready, this book doesn't follow the typical chapter format.

Fans of Game of Thrones and A Song of and Fire who want to read the book House of the Dragon is based on might find it a bit tricky to navigate.

Fire & is a fantasy book written by George R.R. Martin. It delves into the history of House Targaryen and is divided into two volumes. Unlike traditional chapter-based books, it adopts a format similar to a Wikipedia page. The book is presented as a scholarly treatise authored by a historian within the fictional world of A Song of Ice and Fire, which is the basis for the popular TV series Game of Thrones.

However, it should be noted that the books may not completely align with the seasons. Nevertheless, George R.R. Martin, the author of Game of Thrones, stated that he has more influence on the spin-off series House of the Dragon than he did on the original show. Fire & Blood, a substantial book, is likely to captivate your for a considerable amount of . Alternatively, if you haven't watched the series, the cast is equally as memorable as the book.

This is what George RR Martin book the House of the Dragon TV show is based on

image 755

via HBO

Both seasons are based on the book Fire & Blood. Season one of the TV show covers less than two chapters of the book, which are divided by theme rather than chronologically. For instance, the reign of Jahaerys and the reign of Viserys are in the same chapter to represent years of peace and prosperity. The first season of the TV show is approximately 75 pages of the book, with a few extra pages from the next section. To avoid season two spoilers, stop at the end of The Blacks and the Greens.

Season one closely follows the book and includes the second half of A Question of Succession. However, episodes nine and ten have some changes in The Blacks and the Greens and A Son For A Son, so it's not completely identical.

House of the Dragon season two begins on page 400 of the book. On that page, there is a detailed illustration of Vhagar fighting against Arrax in a storm. This illustration is a good starting point for season two episode one. In the first episode, Jace's mission to Winterfell is explained before Luke's mission to Storm's End. Enjoy your reading!

image by HBO

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *